ICC Cricket World Cup details with record of winners and host nations

The ICC Cricket World Cup is the worldwide championship of One Day Worldwide (ODI) cricket. The occasion is organised by the game’s governing physique, the Worldwide Cricket Council (ICC), each 4 years.

The primary Cricket World Cup was held in England, in June 1975. It is without doubt one of the world’s most considered sporting occasions.

A qualification part is carried out for 3 years to find out which groups would participate within the World Cup the following 12 months. The Take a look at-playing nations qualify robotically.

Within the match, 10 groups take part and the host nation robotically qualifies. The format will change to accommodate a 14-team remaining competitors from 2027 onwards.

Australia has gained the match 5 instances, India and West Indies twice every, whereas Pakistan, Sri Lanka and England have gained it as soon as every.

Take a look at these details on the ICC Cricket World Cup:

1. The Ladies’s Cricket World Cup began off in 1973, two years earlier than the primary males’s match, and has been held each 4 years since then.

2. The primary three Cricket World Cups had been held in England. Since 1987, the Cricket World Cup has been hosted by a special nation every time on an unofficial rotation foundation. The host nations are chosen from the 14 ICC member nations.

3. The 1987 Cricket World Cup was the primary one held exterior England. It was held in India and Pakistan.

4. A cricket match involving a number of worldwide groups had been held in 1912 between Australia, England and South Africa.

5. The oldest cricketer in Cricket World Cup has been Nolan Clarke from Netherlands who performed within the 1996 World Cup on the age of 47.

6. India is the one group to win the 60-over Cricket World Cup and the 50-over Cricket World Cup.

7. The 1992 Cricket World Cup was the primary one to shift from white jerseys to colored jerseys, use a white cricket ball, and maintain day-night matches.

8. Sachin Tendulkar has scored essentially the most runs (2278) mixed in Cricket World Cup.

9. Australian cricketer Glenn McGrath has taken essentially the most wickets (71) mixed in Cricket World Cup.

10. The very first century within the Cricket World Cup historical past was scored by English cricketer Dennis Amiss when he scored 137 runs towards India within the 1975 World Cup.

11. The 2019 World Cup noticed Rohit Sharma rating 5 centuries in whole that is the best variety of centuries scored by a single participant in a single cricket match.

12. Within the 2015 World Cup, Kumar Sangakkara scored 4 consecutive centuries, a report in ODIs.

13. The one group to have gained three consecutive Cricket World Cups is Australia (1999, 2003, 2007).

14. The report for the best particular person rating within the match’s historical past is held by New Zealand cricketer Martin Guptill. He scored 237 runs towards West Indies within the 2015 World Cup.

15. The quickest ball in Cricket World Cup was performed by Pakistan cricketer Shoaib Akhtar. His bowling pace was recorded at 100.2 mph or 161.3 km.

16. Irish cricketer Kevin O’Brien holds the report for the quickest century in Cricket World Cup historical past. He scored 113 runs from 63 balls.

17. A group of craftsmen from London’s Garrard and Co designed and produced the Cricket World Cup trophy over a interval of two months.

Listing of Cricket World Cup host nations with winners until date

1975: England

  • West Indies beat Australia

1979: England

1983: England

1987: India

1992: Australia

1996: Pakistan

1999: England

2003: South Africa

2007: West Indies

2011: India

2015: Australia and New Zealand

  • Australia beat New Zealand

2019: England

2023: India

Learn: T20 World Cup details with record of winners and host nations

Learn: 16 details about revered cricketer Gautam Gambhir

Learn: Finest Coaches of the Indian Cricket Workforce


Supply hyperlink