ICC Males’s T20 World Cup teams introduced

  • Australia, England, South Africa and the West Indies in a single group of Tremendous 12s, Afghanistan, India, Pakistan and New Zealand within the different
  • Photographs and movies from launch occasion in Muscat, graphics accessible on our On-line Media Zone

The Worldwide Cricket Council (ICC) at this time introduced the teams for the ICC Males’s T20 World Cup 2021 to be hosted by the BCCI in Oman and the United Arab Emirates from 17 October to 14 November.

The teams, chosen on the premise of group rankings as of 20 March 2021, see defending champions the West Indies pooled together with former champions England, Australia and South Africa in Group 1 of the Tremendous 12s, with two qualifiers from Spherical 1 becoming a member of them.

Group 2 will comprise former champions India and Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan and the opposite two qualifiers from Spherical 1. Eight groups will contest the primary spherical together with computerized qualifiers Sri Lanka and Bangladesh with the remaining six who booked their spot by way of the ICC Males’s T20 World Cup Qualifier 2019. Eire, Netherlands and Namibia be part of Sri Lanka in Group A, while Oman, PNG and Scotland will face Bangladesh in Group B.  

ICC Appearing Chief Government Geoff Allardice: “We’re delighted to announce the teams for the ICC Males’s T20 World Cup 2021. There are some nice match ups supplied by the teams and it begins to convey the occasion to life for our followers as our first multi-team occasion because the onset of the worldwide pandemic attracts nearer. 

“Given the disruption attributable to COVID-19, we chosen the cutoff date as shut as potential to the occasion to make sure we have been in a position to embody the utmost quantity of cricket within the rankings which decide the teams. There is no such thing as a doubt we are going to witness some extremely aggressive cricket when the occasion will get underway in simply three months.”

T20 World Cup 2022 Qualifier Pathway

T20 World Cup 2022 Qualifier Pathway

BCCI Secretary Jay Shah: “With the announcement of groupings, our countdown for the ICC T20 World Cup kickstarts. There’s nothing that separates the 2 teams as each are filled with sides which might be extremely aggressive within the shortest format of the sport. Having mentioned that, the thrilling T20 format is thought for its surprises, and we should be ready for a similar. I’m certain we are going to witness some thrilling and nail-biting video games

“I’m significantly delighted to be in Oman. As a serious drive in world cricket, the BCCI has at all times endeavoured to advertise and help Affiliate Nations. In my capability as Asian Cricket Council President, my imaginative and prescient is to take cricket far and deep into Asia. Co-hosting the World Cup will put Oman Cricket on the worldwide stage. They’re additionally enjoying the Qualifiers and it is going to be an icing on the cake in the event that they make it to the Tremendous 12s.”

BCCI President Sourav Ganguly: “It’s good to get Oman within the body of world cricket with the internet hosting of the ICC Males’s T20 World Cup. It is going to assist quite a lot of younger gamers take an curiosity within the sport. We all know it is going to be a world class occasion on this a part of the world.”

Oman Cricket Chairman, Pankaj Khimji: “Oman Cricket has come a great distance and at this time is a watershed second for us to have ICC and BCCI right here at Oman Cricket Academy to announce the ICC Males’s T20 World Cup teams!

Taking part in in and internet hosting the occasion provides us a possibility to showcase not simply our dedication to rising the sport but additionally showcasing Oman as a welcoming vacation spot to the world!

The top two teams in each group will progress to the Super 12 stage

The highest two groups in every group will progress to the Tremendous 12 stage

Vice President Emirates Cricket Board, Khalid Al Zarooni: “Understanding the present sporting local weather, in such unprecedented occasions, Emirates Cricket congratulates the ICC, the BCCI and the respective groups on at this time’s ICC Males’s T20 World Cup 2021 groupings’ announcement. 

“ these teams we anticipate a extremely aggressive, totally gratifying spectacle of worldwide cricket. That is really an aspirational match and one the broader UAE Cricket group is extraordinarily excited to be concerned in.” 

The venues for the ICC Males’s T20 World Cup 2021 are Dubai Worldwide Stadium, the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi, the Sharjah Stadium, and the Oman Cricket Academy Floor.”

The match schedule shall be introduced sooner or later.

The groupings: 

Spherical 1

Group A: Sri Lanka, Eire, the Netherlands and Namibia
Group B: Bangladesh, Scotland, Papua New Guinea and Oman

Tremendous 12s

Group 1: England, Australia, South Africa, West Indies, A1 and B2.
Group 2: India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan, A2 and B1.

Supply hyperlink

Leave a Comment