USMNT’s World Cup qualifying schedule begins with El Salvador go to

The USA males’s nationwide staff will open up their 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifying marketing campaign in September with a go to to El Salvador, whereas Mexico hosts Jamaica of their first match.

El Salvador, Canada and Panama all booked their spots on Tuesday to affix the USMNT, Costa Rica, Honduras, Jamaica, and Mexico in CONCACAF’s closing spherical of qualifying for the World Cup.

– Carlisle: Classes discovered from USMNT’s epic Nations League win
– Bonagura: USMNT’s ‘B’ staff reveals promise, depth
– Stream ESPN FC Each day on ESPN+ (U.S. solely)

The eight groups will play one another dwelling and away, a complete of 14 matches. The highest three of the Octagonal will qualify on to Qatar, with the fourth-placed staff going to the intercontinental playoff in June 2022.

The spherical was expanded from the six-team Hexagonal format utilized in earlier World Cup cycles to accommodate the suspension of a number of worldwide home windows in 2020 because of the coronavirus pandemic.

– How World Cup qualifying works around the globe

4 of the 5 qualifying home windows — September 2021, October 2021, January/February 2022, and March 2022 — will see the eight groups play three video games apiece. Solely in November 2021 will the groups play two matches.

After their go to to El Salvador, the USMNT will host Canada earlier than touring again to Central America to play Honduras.

Different marquee matches for the U.S. facet can be internet hosting Costa Rica in October after which Mexico in November. Nonetheless, the U.S. face a troublesome window in March 2022 with return visits to each these rivals.

The house venues for the USMNT’s matches have but to be decided.

Mexico’s first three video games of the Octagonal can be internet hosting Jamaica after which two away clashes with Costa Rica and Panama.

The U.S. didn’t qualify to the 2018 World Cup in Russia after shedding to Trinidad & Tobago within the closing match of the qualifying spherical.

Earlier than this cycle’s qualifying marketing campaign begins, all eight sides will take part within the 16-team CONCACAF Gold Cup, with group stage motion starting July 10. The ultimate is slated for Aug. 1 at Las Vegas’ Allegiant Stadium.

USMNT supervisor Gregg Berhalter has stated he would name up largely Main League Soccer gamers for the Gold Cup, permitting Europe-based stars equivalent to Christian Pulisic and Weston McKennie to skip the match forward of their membership seasons. These gamers are anticipated to be again within the combine for the beginning of the World Cup qualifying schedule.

Sept. 2: El Salvador (a)
Sept. 5: Canada (h)
Sept. 8: Honduras (a)
Oct. 7: Jamaica (h)
Oct. 10: Panama (a)
Oct. 13: Costa Rica (h)
Nov. TBD: Mexico (h)
Nov. TBD: Jamaica (a)
Jan. 27: El Salvador (h)
Jan. 30: Canada (a)
Feb. 2: Honduras (h)
March 24: Mexico (a)
March 27: Panama (h)
March 30: Costa Rica (a)

Sept. 2: Jamaica (h)
Sept. 5: Costa Rica (a)
Sept. 8: Panama (a)
Oct. 7: Canada (h)
Oct. 10: Honduras (h)
Oct. 13: El Salvador (a)
Nov. TBD: United States (a)
Nov. TBD: Canada (a)
Jan. 27: Jamaica (a)
Jan. 30: Costa Rica (h)
Feb. 2: Panama (h)
March 24: United States (h)
March 27: Honduras (a)
March 30: El Salvador (h)

Supply hyperlink